^ Back to Top

Welcome to Our Official Website

WelcomeCaritas SED Galle is the centre for Catholic Social Economic Development in the Southern Province working in collaboration with Caritas Sri Lanka, a member of Caritas Internationalis network of 162 Catholic Relief Development and Social Service Organizations working together to build a better world.



Social and Economic Development Centre (Caritas SED-Galle) is the Diocesan Centre for Social and Economic development in the Southern Province. Since 1978 Caritas has been working with the southerners as a service organization.


Caritas SED Galle is an expression of the concern of the Catholic Church in the Southern Province for Justice, Peace and Human Development. It operates on the mandate of the Catholic Bishop's Conference of Sri Lanka (CBCSL). As a church based organisation and mandated by the CBCSL, its mission in the social field is based on the Gospel values and universal solidarity towards all the members of the society irrespective of religion or ethnicity.


Through the actions of Caritas SED Galle with its Sub-Centers in the districts of Galle, Matara and Hambantota covering the southern region, the Catholic Church expresses its commitment to uplift the needy and the marginalized, to create awareness for their self-improvement, to promote peace and harmony among the different groups and to reach out with help providing services in times of disaster and emergencies.


Caritas SED Galle aims to work with other like-minded groups with similar ideas for the building of a better Sri Lanka where peace and harmony will prevail among all members of the Sri Lankan society.


Caritas SED Galle is a member of Caritas Sri Lanka SEDEC and who is a member of the Caritas Internationalist network and as such it is committed to promote the integral human development of the human person in accordance with the Caritas Vision, Mission and Goal.


Caritas SED-Galle is registered as a charitable organization working under the Commission of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of Sri Lanka and incorporated by Act of Parliament, No. 17 of 1983.